First bridal show reflections

Bridal Extravaganza Booth - Jan 2008

Everyone reading this knows we set up a booth at the 2008 Austin Bridal Extravaganza (we don’t use the word extravaganza enough these days). We really didn’t know what to expect. We had never even set foot in a bridal show, much less displayed at one. I’ve got to say, going in blind, it turned out to be a huge success. Our display (pictured above) was designed and built by my parents. They built the podiums, monitor stand and “walls” from scratch. It turned out amazing and we had so many people tell us how great it was.

A few things I took away from the experience:

  • Even comfortable shoes aren’t enough. Six hours each day standing on concrete is tough.
  • We talked constantly. The general set up was I had a couple or two I was selling and Becca was doing the same with one or two people trying to get close enough to get a brochure. We were swamped.
  • Being across the aisle from Salt Lick BBQ was a horrible idea. We got to stand there and smell amazing BBQ all day and we never really had the chance to eat so we were starving.
  • The bridal industry is overwhelming to brides.
  • A lot of photographers don’t give out pricing. We printed all our pricing in a nice brochure and brides were so thankful we were willing to give them our information and let them make a decision later.
  • Getting torn down and out of the show after it was over was an absolute nightmare. If you’d asked me while we were in the middle of leaving if I’d ever do another show again, the answer would be an emphatic “NO!”
  • Now that I’m not there, not angry and have a stack of checks in front of me, I don’t mind so much.
  • I’m really looking forward to shooting with all our brides. They were all very excited and also having very creative weddings.
  • I finally got to use my 30″ Apple Cinema Display for a show. I’ve wanted to do it since we bought it and it turned out great.

We flat out couldn’t have done this without my parents. Also Cheri and Christa for watching the boys while we did this. Thanks guys.

Comments

  1. says

    It’s a gorgeous set-up. Clean lines, tall counters for flipping through books…Very nice.
    I did a bridal show last year. Went into it blind, too. They gave me a covered table and chair, so that helped. I don’t have a picture but will take some at the next show in 2 weeks. I hope to get alot of interest. I had pens, notepads and promo packs made so I could give them away. I won’t offer a drawing this time, but I hope that doesn’t deter anyone!

  2. says

    Thanks, Lisa. I was surprised at how well it all turned out. All though I’m not sure why I was surprised. My parents built it all and they can do just about anything.

    Good luck at your next show. We’ve got another one in two weeks too.

Leave a Reply

