Someday (Part 1 of 4)

“‘Someday’ is a disease that will take your dreams to the grave with you.” — Timothy Ferriss The Four Hour Work Week

Tony Morgan posted that quote last week in his recap of the book and it perfectly sums up what I was going to write here. Last week I asked a question. If you could do anything right now, and money was no obstacle, what would you do?

Discovering who you are

This series of posts is inspired by the fact that I know so many people that hate their jobs. I’m not talking mildly dislike. I’m talking hate. I would venture to guess that the majority of people out there don’t like what they do for a living. I would also submit to you that the majority of people probably haven’t truly asked God what he thinks about the whole thing.

There’s this thing we all have in our hearts called desire. I think every person is created for a purpose and buried in their heart is the desire to follow that purpose. In this instance I’m talking about a career. So much of what we do defines who we are. There’s no way to avoid it. If you spend eight plus hours a day doing anything, it is going to have a huge influence on your life outside those eight hours.

So the first thing is discovering what God has for you to do. That’s why I asked the question. If money was no object, what would you do? If your answer was sit on my butt, or buy a house on the beach and sit on my butt or really any variation of sit on my butt, I don’t think that’s what God has for you. However, if what you want to do involves hard work and a dream you’ve always wanted to achieve, pray about it. Focus on it. Seeks God’s will for that specific thing. I think God calls us to do crazy, life-changing things every day. I also believe we ignore him every day so as to not disrupt our familiar if unremarkable lives.

So we all have these dreams. Usually, however, those dreams rest on a pedestal in our mind labeled “Someday.” Those dreams are relegated to the corner where they can only happen if everything in life falls into place and you win the lottery.

This week I want to spend time talking about those dreams and how to make them happen, instead of just sitting around staring up at the pedestal and wishing.

Tomorrow: But my butt likes being lazy

Leave a Reply

