I’m a Toys R’ Us pastor

With our move to Legacy I’ve had to rewrite my thinking. We came from a small church to a growing church.

In a small church it was easier to just say “I’ll teach it myself.” In a growing church I have to be able to instead write curriculum and deploy it to others to teach.

In a small church I accepted that it was too hard to get volunteers (especially to teach kids) and stopped trying. In a growing church I am constantly recruiting. I can never have enough volunteers and doing it all myself is no longer an option.

Ultimately I think I’m a Toys R’ Us pastor. I don’t want to grow up. I want the church to grow, sure, but changing my methods and leadership is hard. It’s easier just to do things myself. I’m coming around now, though, and praying for many other leaders to come in around the Legacy Kids department. Growing is hard. But if we can’t grow as leadership in our methods alongside the rest of the church, it creates a bottleneck that eventually kills growth.

Leave a Reply

