Someday (Part 2 of 4)

Yesterday: Discovering who you are
Today: But my butt likes being lazy

Yesterday I talked about the unhappiness people have with their lives and trying to discover the dreams God has for you to follow. The things we desire most are often what we should be doing. Instead we busy ourselves with something that “pays the bills” but leaves us hollow. Today I want to talk about obstacles to following our dreams.

Fear
Usually, following what God has for us requires sacrifice and faith. These are two things that often cause fear. Often we fear losing things. God’s dreams for us almost never go along the lines we think they will and often that journey requires sacrifice of something to get there. I’ve had to give up a lot since starting the studio. I’ve given up financial safety. Certainly we pay the bills, but I’m constantly reminded that is only because of God’s grace. I give him credit for every new client and every dollar that comes through the door. My fear came from the fact that I would have to lean entirely on God for everything. When we are employed by someone else, we tend to lean on them. We trust that they will do their part and the paychecks will keep flowing. I had to give that up and lean on God. The benefits? It’s all God’s money anyway. If it’s his will, he can take care of you far beyond what any employer can. I still battle with fear, even after following God’s steps for me. The only way I’ve found to combat it is being close to God.

Lazyness
God’s path for you often requires very hard work. Despite hating their place in life, most people are not willing to work their way out of it. They have fallen into the trap that it’s too hard or even impossible to follow their dreams, so they do nothing. I’m not going to lie. I work harder now than I ever have in my life. The hours are insane and the stress high. However, I’m doing what I’m supposed to be doing with my life right now. For some reason I’m happier now than when I had a comfortable eight to five job. Most people look at what must be done to achieve the dreams and don’t truly trust that God will get them there, so they never start.

Debt
This is probably the single greatest reason people never get to follow their dreams. We’ve been taught by the world that our dreams are new cars and HDTVs. We follow after those things and often go into a lot of debt to get there. I’ve done the same thing many times. Once you have those things, though, it’s just one more thing to have to take care of and ultimately doesn’t bring you true happiness. Those things aren’t bad, but if they are the ultimate thing you work toward, you will be disappointed. I know people who have no restrictions to their lifestyle that would stop them from pursuing their dreams. Unfortunately they are so saddled with massive debt that following anything other than a paycheck is out of the question. Debt keeps us from achieving what God has for us.

So what do you do if you are in debt? Start working on it. Pray about it constantly. Stop adding more debt and begin chipping away and the mountain in front of you. Even if it’s only $10 a month, do it. The other thing is to make changes. Sell vehicles. Cancel cable. Get rid of cell phones. STOP EATING OUT. Whenever we’ve hit tough times the first thing we do is stop eating out. You’d be amazed how much money that saves. The point is, do something. Don’t just stare at the pile of debt and assume you’ll never get out of it. Start working on it. The sacrifice required to erase debt will be great experience for what comes later when following your dreams. If you are in covered in debt and think there’s no way out, I’d start reading this guy.

Tomorrow: Timing is everything

Leave a Reply

