Insulated

I’ve found as I get busier in life I’ve become more insulated from the outside world. I find I just don’t care as much about things I used to. Take two of my previous favorites. The Superbowl and politics.

I literally didn’t care about last night’s game. Heck, I’m in advertising and I couldn’t even muster the interest to watch the commercials. Instead I spent about 20 minutes watching them online this morning.

I’ve found politics to be the same way this year. Last election cycle, I had an i.v. drip feeding political talk shows and news directly into my body. This year, I just don’t seem to care. I’ll still vote, don’t get me wrong, but I just can’t dedicate the time or energy to it.

I find the only things I’m interested in these days are things that challenge and inspire me creatively. With so little time, my focus is on three things these days; my family, my business and the church.

Comments

  1. says

    I feel the same way, and I’ve been a Pats fan since ’85. I watched the game and said an “oh well” when they lost, turned off the TV, and went about my business (which right now is hacking and shivering from the flu).

  2. says

    I’m glad it’s not just me. As I was writing that I realized if I was looking for things that are creatively stimulating, the Super Bowl and politics just aren’t it. It’s the same old thing year after year.

    Hope you get to feeling better.

Leave a Reply

