Delays are better than now

Life is full of delays. And I’m not a patient person.

Today I was pondering some of the delays I’ve had to face in my life. I desperately wanted to quit my job and start my own business a few times.

God delayed me.

That annoyed me.

Looking at it now, though, by delaying me he held off some tough situations until I was equipped to handle them.

We serve a God to which time means nothing. That means he requires us to be patient. However, we live in a society that pushes now. Now is the ultimate thing we’re supposed to strive for in the world. Everything around us tells us we need to have the latest stuff now. We need a bigger TV now. We need to be having sex now. We need to have more money now. I think that’s one of the main reasons we see so many screwed up things in life these days. The world is pushing the exact opposite of what God wants and we buy it, hook, line and sinker. I’m including myself in that category too.

Relish the delays. It’s usually God saving you from things you aren’t ready to face. I’m always reminding myself that he has a perfect plan for me. Not just a plan, but a perfect plan. Delays and all.

Leave a Reply

