The school of hard knocks

Tony bought the entire staff subscriptions to Leadership magazine. I got my first copy in a couple of weeks ago and started thumbing through it. The first 20 pages or so were ads for seminaries. This got me thinking about education in general.

Growing up, I hated school. It never grabbed me. I only excelled at a few things, most of them in the creative field. In fact, the only class I can say I really loved was the school newspaper. I think the reason is because I learned and then applied what I learned right in the class.

Most classes teach information. They fail to add any application to the course. As a result, I didn’t retain most of that information. I tend to learn by doing. So why is education essentially the same today as they were back when my parents went to school? Why do we read information from books and then write it down? Why not teach less information each year but teach them how to apply the information?

As I looked at all those seminary ads I thought of all the men I’ve known who have gone through seminary. I can only think of two that are still in active ministry. I think it’s another example of information with no application.

I just prefer the school of hard knocks. It’s how I’ve learned everything that’s ever mattered in my life. But maybe some are different.

How do you learn best?

Comments

  1. says

    Okay, let’s look at a better school. If you had it to do again, would you do everything the same or were there some things that were a waste of time. The school of hard knocks is a very slow school. If you had and listened to a mentor, you could have learned from the mistakes of others.

    Unfortunately schools don’t use either approach.

  2. says

    Mentoring is another good angle. The only class in high school where I would consider my teacher to be a mentor as well? The school newspaper. Mr. V was the one teacher who invested in his students beyond just teaching the text books.

Leave a Reply

