Not a good cheater

I stayed with my parents Thursday night while I had to be in that area for business. Cody and Amanda came over and they proceeded to teach me how to play 42.

I quickly picked up the game and figured out the best way to cheat. After all, I couldn’t let my brother beat me.

Unfortunately I didn’t count on my Mom’s complete lack of ability to cheat.

During one hand I lined up my dominoes and arranged them. Lots of high fives. But no double five. Hmmm.

“So Mom, are you going to be 55 this year?” I asked.

Her eyes widened. “No I’m not going to be 55!” she exclaimed.

“Are you sure?” I asked glancing meaningfully at her dominoes. “Have you checked?”

At this point Cody cracked up, knowing exactly what I was trying to do.

“No,” she said again, “Not going to be 55.”

“Fine,” I said, giving up.

Two hands later I drew a lot of zeros. But no double blank. Again. If we had the double blank we could win that hand. Suddenly it was my turn to bid.

I looked her in the eye. “I bid zero.” I said with emphasis.

“So you pass?” she asked.

Cody started to laugh again.

“No, I don’t pass, I bid zero,” I repeated.

“So you pass,” she said again, still trying to teach me the terminology of the game.

“You’re no good at cheating are you?” I asked.

Leave a Reply

