The road back

Is it possible to stray further from God while maintaining a daily quiet time and spending good amounts of time with Him? Oh yeah. It’s very possible.

Your focus can’t be checking it off the list. “Ok, read my Bible, prayed, now to start the day.” That doesn’t work.

There has to be real interaction between you and the creator of the universe or it just becomes one more commodity we sell to people in the church. It is an important step to a closer relationship with God, but it needs to be more about quality time.

I think we also forget the “quiet” part of quiet time. Sometimes we just need to sit an shut up.

These are the things rattling around in my head as I get on the road back towards God. It’s not that I can’t see Him. It’s just that there is a distance between us that has slowly crept up. It’s like we were walking together and with each step I fell a few more inches behind. I ponder all this as I toe a line I’ve never been to before. Oh, I’ve been tired before. I’ve been stressed before, but never like this. This is a very busy time of year for the design/marketing side of my business. Everyone has big projects cooking. This is also wedding season. Right smack dab in the middle of it. What it adds up to is a seven-days-a-week schedule with most of those days being 12 hours or more.

I’m physically and emotionally exhausted. And it’s going to be like this for a few more months at least. I’m just trying to figure out the balance God has for my life. It’s in there somewhere, but only He knows it right now. Everyone always has great advice at times like this (and I appreciate it) but none of it seems to fit where we’re at right now. Only He knows, so I’m asking Him.

Leave a Reply

