Challenge yourself

Unified Theory

Yesterday was a long day. I prepped all morning for a bridal shoot with Mallorie. I arrived at the shoot around 2:00 and we didn’t finish until almost eight in the evening. It involved a lot of time in the heat and even shooting some bridal photos inside UT head coach Mack Brown’s office (but that’s another story). So it was a little crazy in addition to being long. When I left the shoot I was burned out. All I wanted to do was make sure we had taken some good shots and go to bed. But then there was the fact that I had an 8:45 meeting with the band Unified Theory. Yeah, my scheduling skills suck.

Unified Theory

The band was rehearsing in the band leader’s living room. It was spacious, but not so much when you add eight people and all their instruments. I was really just there to hear them for the first time and to plan out a real shoot.

Unified Theory

Despite being ready to fall over from being so tired, I sat listening to them play and was inspired to take a few photos. I decided to challenge myself. I really never shoot live music. And it was in a living room. I decided to try to make it look like A) I knew what I was doing when shooting live music and B) we weren’t in a living room.

Unified Theory

I’m not sure I succeeded on either point. But, I did have a good time shooting in a style I’m not used to. I’ve become sort of known for bright colors and different angles. Well, I didn’t like the quality of light so I immediately decided to go all black and white. I also wanted that blurry, grainy kind of look. I shot with the D200 set for 1000 ISO with a 50MM f1.8 lens. Most of them were set to 1.8 at about 1/30 of a second.

Unified Theory

What I found very interesting was how hard it was to shoot good shots of the band members playing instruments versus the singers. It was easy with the singers. They were standing up front and I could get some nice light around them. The other members were against walls or in corners and I couldn’t get an angle I liked very much. The other thing though was the instruments almost created a wall between us where it was hard to shoot. I’m curious to try that again with a focus on those guys.

Unified Theory

The band turned out to be amazing. I can’t wait to shoot some proper portraits of them. It turned into a nice challenge for me and reminded me to shoot for fun sometimes and stretch myself.

Unified Theory

Unified Theory

Unified Theory

Unified Theory

Leave a Reply

