6-2-09 Daily iPhone

Daily iPhone 6-2-09

“Dad, these will be worth a lot of money some day,” I said as I flipped through the pages of my brand new set of 1991 Upper Deck baseball cards. He smiled at me. Did he know they wouldn’t be worth anything? Probably. He’s always been a wise investor. And I was 11.

Today I still have most of my old baseball cards. 99% of them aren’t worth the paper they are printed on. But, as I look back on all those hard-earned allowance dollars I sunk into the hobby, I don’t really regret it. It was fun and left me with some great memories. Surely that’s worth a few dollars.

On a side note, does anyone else remember when Upper Deck first came out? They were, I think, the first cards printed on glossy stock and packaged in shiny foil wrappers. And holy crap, did you see that tiny hologram base on the back? That alone was worth the price of admission. There’s nothing quite like the smell of a freshly opened pack of cards.

This was taken in my garage (where the cards now reside) with Camera Bag using the Helga filter.

Comments

  1. says

    I’m not sure when Upper Deck first came out, but I certainly remember collecting them! I don’t have any of cards anymore, but I still remember how fun it was to collect them.
    The hologram was awesome. 🙂

Leave a Reply

