For my kids

Everyone celebrates the fathers on this day, and rightfully so. Like the moms on Mother’s Day, it’s a time to honor the hard work and love it takes to be a good parent.

While I’ve never felt like a particularly amazing father, I’ve always had the goal of helping my kids avoid the mistakes I made in life. At some point I think I realized that was impossible. Probably at about the millionth time Colton hid his homework rather than having to do it, just like I used to do.

So the best I can do is attempt to model for them what they should do and how they should react to life. I don’t always do a great job of this, but I try. The frustrating thing about kids is you don’t know if you’ve done a good job raising them until they face adversity. Problems reveal their character. Problems also reveal to us our need for God. In that respect I always want to protect my kids, but I also realize a life of ease breeds people that don’t feel they need God.

So I guess my hope this Father’s Day is that I will raise kids that face adversity well. I pray they will make good decisions and take life as it happens, knowing that nothing happens outside of God’s will. If they can handle that, the rest will be easy.

Leave a Reply

