The constant obstacle

Historically I’ve always had problems with consistent Bible study. I may have a few really great weeks of consistency and then not touch it for a month. I know I’m not alone in that either.

I try to always look at the base of any problem to find a solution. In this case I’ll usually start a reading plan, fall behind at some point and then abandon it. At this point I’m reminded of the fact that if I’d been faithful in study for the entire time I’ve known God I’d be much further along than I am. The guilt stacks up and makes me feel the goal is unattainable.

So my base problem is I’m unable to receive the grace Christ gives. If I study one verse or 100, it doesn’t matter. My guilt shouldn’t drive my desire to study. It should be an overflow from my love of God and my receipt of his grace.

I’m trying to make my study time less about a system and more about receiving something from God, no matter how big or small. It’s not a race to get through the Bible or an obligation to be fulfilled.

Leave a Reply

