Prepare for your mind to explode!

I walked toward the hallway and was instantly stopped in my tracks as an idea hit me like lightning. I paused and marveled at the idea.

“Holy crap!” I thought to myself. “This is going to blow people’s minds! It’s such a perfect idea to write about.”

“I know,” my brain replied.

“It’s short, to the point and really clever,” I thought, “Thanks for that one, brain. This idea will put us on the map.”

“No problem,” my brain said nonchalantly, “I’m just here to help.”

Just as I was basking in the warmth of a great idea, my phone rang. The client’s number on the screen meant I needed to answer. I quickly talked with him, going over plans for a project. I politely ended the call as fast as possible so I could begin writing my idea down.

Making my way back to my office, I sat in front of the computer. I cracked my knuckles in preparation, as I’ve always pictured all great writers doing before they craft a literary masterpiece. My fingers wrested lightly on the keys, ready to begin the magical journey that is writing.

“Um, brain, we have a problem,” I thought.

“What’s wrong?” it asked me.

“I can’t remember the idea.”

“You mean you can’t remember how it starts?”

“No, I can’t remember anything about it. That’s so weird. What was it again?”

“I don’t know.”

I began to type. I don’t kno….

“Wait, what? What do you mean you don’t know? It was your idea.”

“I didn’t write it down,” my brain said indignantly, “Did you?”

“Well no I didn’t write it down! I thought you had a hold of it.”

“Sorry.”

“What do you mean sorry?!”

“I just come up with the ideas. I don’t file them. That’s your job. You think those opposable thumbs are just for looks?”

“I know it’s in there somewhere” I screamed at my sarcastic brain, “Find it!”

“Look, if I come across it again, I’ll let you know. I just don’t see the idea laying around right here.”

“I hate you, brain.”

“You’re no peach yourself.”

“You know I’m not above shoving a fork in you.”

“I don’t think that would end well for either of us.”

“Fine,” I mumbled in frustration.

Comments

Leave a Reply

