Just for fun

Restaurant

With everything happening over the last few months, I’ve been on the very precipice of burnout. I’ve produced what I think is some good work in that time, but it’s been a huge struggle. It’s been like trying to wring water out of a completely dry sponge.

Everything has a deadline.

Everything is an item on a to-do list.

I never take the time to just relax and do something creatively for myself. Everything is about producing more content, usually for others.

Overgrown Alley

This last week I was in Ardmore, Oklahoma shooting photos for a cook book. It was a tiring week, but I found myself on Saturday with a few hours before I had to head back. I decided to walk around downtown with my iPhone and just take some pictures for fun. I had driven past a wall all week that had some vines growing up it. Every time I drove past, I thought, “I’d love to take a picture of that.”

It felt odd, at first, just walking around shooting random things. It wasn’t long, however, until it felt natural again. If I saw an interesting looking alley, I’d go down it and see what shots I could find. To just do something creative with no constraints whatsoever felt so good.

It was only an hour, but it was refreshing in a way I can’t really explain. I left feeling better than I have in a long, long time.

Showdown Alley

I’ll be posting all the photos over the next week or two over at my iPhone photography site, TinyLens.tv.

Leave a Reply

