Spiritual gut check

I find more and more, I have to have a spiritual gut check and ask myself a really important question.

Am I doing this because I love God, or because I want him to do something for me?

I ask that question a lot and, sadly, it often comes up with me wanting God to do something for me. I have to remind myself, he is not my cosmic vending machine. I can’t just hit H6 and get a bag of peace, or press D4 and get that new business opportunity I want.

He has to be enough for me. In my heart, I want to be close to him. Unfortunately half the time it’s because I love him and half the time it’s because I need something. Needs and wants demonstrate that we have limits. They show that we are in need of a savior. But, it seems like my sinful heart always wants to latch onto those desires more than God.

Leave a Reply

