Promises in progress

“Behold, my covenant is with you, and you shall be the father of a multitude of nations. No longer shall your name be called Abram, but your name shall be Abraham, for I have made you the father of a multitude of nations.
(Genesis 17:4-5 ESV)

The verses above are what jumped out at me when I was reading this morning. Notice how in verse four, God says to Abram, “you shall be the father of a multitude of nations.” Future tense. You will be. That’s a promise from God. Then, one verse later, God says, “for I have made you the father of a multitude of nations.” Past tense. He has already fulfilled the promise.

This really speaks to the faithfulness of God. In his mind, if he promises something it is already done, whether we can see it or not. If God promises something, it means he has already been working out the million different events that have to happen through history to make that promise come about.

Today, to me, is the first day of a new journey for us. I think a lot of that journey is going to be discovering what his promises for me and my family are. The great things is, even though I might not know exactly what those promises look like, they are already in progress. God is already knitting together the fabric of our story with countless events around us that we don’t even see or know exist.

Leave a Reply

