Scarcity

There’s something to be said for scarcity elevating something from just okay to “perfect”.

My bleary eyes stared at the screen for what seemed like the 24th straight hour.

Searching.

Scrolling.

Clicking.

More scrolling.

I need a new truck. Well not new, but new to me. I need to find that perfect combination of price, mileage and features that would make me want to drive it for the next decade.

Search.

Scroll.

Click.

“Hey!,” I exclaim, “This one looks great.”

I pick up the phone an call. “Hi, first question, does the truck have a clean title?” I ask.

“No, sir, it’s a salvage title.”

This is the fifth time tonight I’ve found “the perfect truck” and it’s turned out to be a salvage. I consider hurling my iPhone against the wall. The prospect of iPhone and truck shopping simultaneously stops me.

Search.

Scroll.

Click.

“This one isn’t bad. Nice truck. Great price. Low mileage. White isn’t my favorite color, but it could work. We’ll add it to the maybe list.”

I pick up the phone and dial the number.

Voicemail.

I leave a message. Seem interested, but not eager. There is, after all, still that age-old dance of negotiation to do.

An hour passes. No call back.

“Why hasn’t he called me back?”

Search.

Scroll.

Click.

“Seriously, this is 2013. Technology, man. Pick up the phone and CALL ME!”

Search.

Scroll.

Click.

“What if it’s sold? What if I missed out on the perfect truck by minutes?”

Search.

Scroll.

Click.

Okay, I need some sleep.

Eight hours later: “He still hasn’t called! I want this truck. I need it more than the air I breath! Why can’t I have it?”

Leave a Reply

