Impromptu portrait sessions

Grandpa's Kilt

I make a point to always be looking for that next great photo opportunity. This is probably why I carry a complete lighting kit with me just about every where I go. You never know when a great shot will present itself. Or in this case, himself. I was shooting Devin and Mallorie’s wedding exactly a month ago. Devin’s grandpa attended the reception rocking a kilt. How can you pass up an opportunity like that?

I had about five minutes for a break during the night so I setup a quick one-light rig outside to try an capture a portrait. When you only have a few minutes, it’s great to have someone who can work well in front of the camera. I’m really proud of how they turned out considering how little time we had.

Grandpa's Kilt
Grandpa's Kilt

Leave a comment